Chapter 2 – Music remix in the classroom

Erik Jacobson

 

I have been aware of music, music composition and music remixing for a long time. Currently, Dubstep is a popular form of remixing and talented DJs can earn fame and fortune. This Dubstep phenomenon has also led to the selling of amateur mixing tools so anyone can remix music.

While I’m not 100% sold on the power of remixing music and using as a tool in the learning environment, I’m also not going to disregard the power it may have. I work with adult learners in a corporate environment, so using this type of media would be challenging. I believe that it would be fun and engaging, and that it has the potential to bring collaboration between participants. I could easily compose a remix and incorporate that, but the time needed to create and implement an activity for participants would be much more challenging.

I am familiar with sound mixing and remixing, and the technology involved is not a huge challenge. While I did not grow up with an entire radio station library in my pocket, the nature of my scholastic studies and profession have allowed me to embrace many different types of creative software. The participants I deal with would, for the most part be very challenged and overwhelmed. I appreciate the author addressing that art does not come from nothing. It is important that participants in the classroom have many resources to draw inspiration from all around them.

I am intrigued. How would participants convey a message about professional experience or leadership using remixed music or sounds or their own voice? Having different generations collaborate would also be fun. Baby Boomers would have to work with Millennials, so the outcome could be rewarding. I will have to investigate this a bit more and set up a focus group in an effort to assess this possibility.

 

 

Chapter 3 – DIY podcasting in education

Christopher Shamburg

 

“…the power of audio to entertain, inform, and persuade.”

 – Christopher Shamburg

I must admit that podcasting interests me. I think that it would be a great deal of fun to identify a friend or peer and just talk about the silliest topics. My podcast would probably be comparable to The Howard Stern Show, although much less popular. It is worth noting that delivering a podcast at work, for me, would likely be unwelcome and disruptive. I work quite a bit with leadership development and am keenly aware of the corporate culture. I would use the podcast to challenge junior leaders to change the culture, which could end badly.

“The key for using podcasting successfully in education is, I believe, to abandon the model of simply enhancing the existing curriculum and to deeply reflect on the types of skills we want students to have in the kind of world in which they are living now.”

– Christopher Shamburg

Similar to the remix reading I appreciate the author walking me through the steps of moving from podcast listener to podcast creator. I was introduced to different resources such as the application Audacity. The author makes a good case for podcasts vs. vodcasts and I agree that audio is here to stay and in this type of delivery much more engaging.

Podcasting is definitely worth looking into. The author provides some great examples for implementing podcasting in the classroom such as fictional dramatizations. The dramatizations could focus on positive and negative interactions from employees at work. We also have various regional sites around the country and an audio tour would help to define location based perspectives that could lead to a greater understanding and improved communication between sites. Overall, given thoughtful and careful planning, podcasts have the potential to be a valuable learning tool.

